Customer Service

This is the first forum posting for me. Two years ago you could report a laundry list of defects on a house; and buyers would say, "No problem, we'll buy'er as is." Today the buyer wants everything on the report repaired/replaced and the agents and sellers are hung out to dry.

Well, I have been tolerant of this paradigm until I made the mistake of going to an inspection with pain pills in my blood stream. I was irritable and told the customer I would not put a slightly rubbing door on the summary.

The customer was ticked, told the agent I was a jerk and the agent said I couldn't hide a condition. I shot back that the condition was on the report but not in the summary; it's being too picky, it just needs to be sanded at the top corner and any homeowner can do it in a jiffy.

The situation just got worse as I dug into my position! Now this morning I have decided to return the fee to the client, because I assure complete satisfaction.

Let's all be very patient with very picky, acknowledgeable buyers.

Terris, life is too short to let those little things bother you, pain pills or not. I have to agree with Wayne, who are we to decide what is or is not an issue to our client. It should make no difference to you or me as a home inspector what our client wants repaired or not after they review the report.

If something is bothering my client and I find that it is not proper or defective then it goes in the report. Makes no difference to me and this is also one of the reasons I always ask my client before, during and at the end of the inspection if they have a concern about anything.

Glad to see you realized your error and gave the refund.

I can see her point.

During my inspections I always say to change the locks or have them re-keyed for security. If I see a hot water tank that is old but still operational I recommend replacing it before it goes bad.