Energy audits

Has anybody had any experience with CMC Energy Services and their Home Energy Consultant certification program? I am thinking of offering energy audits as a way to increase buisiness and I was refered to them by one of my suppliers at my day job. $300 seems steep for web based training and I would like a little feedback before I shell out the coin.

If you haven't heard of them you can check out their website, http://www.hec-training.com/index.html

Thanks,

Tom

That training is for a Home Energy Consultant program. It is NOT training for performing energy audits.

In our experience, if consumers are given a choice between an energy consultation and an energy audit, they choose the latter every time - even though it costs more.

$300 bucks is way cheap. Although I have no experience with CMC, I suspect you'll get what you pay for.

So far, my certs and "startup" costs for conducting proper energy audits are around $6,000 - $8,000 . . . and counting.

Then there's the dozens of hours spent in the training itself and the probationary work required, specifically for the HERS program.

That training is for a Home Energy Consultant program. It is NOT training for performing energy audits.

In our experience, if consumers are given a choice between an energy consultation and an energy audit, they choose the latter every time - even though it costs more.

Interesting, Bill.

In your area, then, folks are splitting with their hard-earned cash to get an actual audit?

What types of audits are being performed?

Tom,