Arbitration Clause in Inspection Agreement

Many of us have an arbitration clause in our PIA. Mine states that disputes will be settled under the rules & procedures of Construction Arbitration Services, Inc. I learned last week that this company has gone out of business and therefore the arbitration clause in my PIA is not valid. A lawyer (at the STL ASHI fall conference) stated that an arbitration clause must state who will be the arbitrator.

So my question is what arbitration company / body / group / rules does your PIA indicate.

I know there is AAA (American Arbitration Association) and that they are very expensive.

The only one that wins in arbitration is the arbitrator. Why not go to court where you at least have a chance of winning?

I have no experience is being sued or going to arbritation. So I've just gone with what I've been told - arbritration is prefered. I've been told it is much more expensive to defend yourself against frivolous law suits then in arbritration. How does your PIA address the issue?

Glassford v. BrickKicker and GDM Home Services, Inc. (2009-362) (04-Nov-2011)

This Blog Linked From Here Law Links

This Blog

Loading...Linked From Here

.Loading...Law Links

.Loading...

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Limitation of liability; liquidated damages; exculpatory clause; arbitration. Divided court rejects as unconscionable a limitation of liability clause and an arbitration clause in home inspection contract.

Glassford v. BrickKicker and GDM Home Services, Inc. (2009-362) (04-Nov-2011) 2011 VT 118 (Skoglund, J ) (Dooley, J., concurring and dissenting.) (Burgess, J., joined by Chief Justice Reiber, concurring and dissenting).